Indian Team Announced Squad For Sri Lanka Tri-Series


Nidahas Trophy: In the first week of March, India has announced the Indian team for the tri-series to be played under the Nidahas Trophy. Many senior players, including Virat Kohli, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, have been rested, so many youngsters have been given the place in the team. Rohit Sharma to lead the 15-member squad, Shikhar Dhawan named vice-captain.

The IPL will be played next month. And after that the Indian team is in England tour, so considering this, many players had requested the BCCI to rest. At the same time, the board also wants players to be completely refreshed for important tours. Chief selector MSK Prasad said that while selecting the team, we have chosen the team keeping in mind much cricket and the upcoming program. He said that on behalf of Team Management it was suggested that fast bowlers should be given rest to improve performance, to provide more comfort and to prevent injuries.

The reason being that the board has rested the regular players like Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah, while Delhi wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant, including Deepak Hooda, Mohammad Siraj and Vijay Shankar of Tamil Nadu are also included in the team for the Tri Series .

These Players Did Not Get Chance In The Tri-Series

Many new players have also been given a chance in this series. Still, there are some young Indian stars that have not been given the opportunity. This T20 series will be played from 6 March to 18 March. So let’s take a look at those five players which do not have a chance in the Nidahas Trophy Tri-Series.

Karun Nair is a great young Indian player. But he has not been given a chance in the team for several months. In 2016, he scored a triple century in Tests against England. He introduced his rhythm in the Ranji Trophy. He has scored 612 runs in 11 innings. Meanwhile, he has scored 3 centuries and a fifty.

Sanju Samson was given a chance in the Indian team against Zimbabwe in 2015. After that, they have not got any chance. By the way, Sanju has scored 677 runs in 12 innings while performing well in the Ranji.

Basil Thampi, the emerging young Indian player of the Indian team, had taken 11 wickets in 12 matches from Gujarat in 2017. Even though their performance was not as good, they should definitely have got a chance.

27-year-old batsman Mayank Agarwal is not getting a chance despite the good performance in the Ranji Trophy. Mayank has scored from 1106 runs in 13 innings at an average of 105. In the meantime, has scored two half-centuries and five hundreds.

India Squad Changes

OutVirat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav

InWashington Sundar, Vijay Shankar, Mohammad Siraj, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant

Indian Team Squad For Nidahas Trophy

Squad Rohit Sharma (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj, Rishabh Pant

Nidahas Trophy 2018 Schedule

Match Date & Time Venue
Sri Lanka vs India 1st T20 6 March, 7:00 PM Colombo
Bangladesh vs India 2nd T20 8 March, 7:00 PM Colombo
Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh 3rd T20 10 March, 7:00 PM Colombo
Sri Lanka vs India 4th T20 12 March, 7:00 PM Colombo
Bangladesh vs India 5th T20 14 March, 7:00 PM Colombo
Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh 6th T20 16 March, 7:00 PM Colombo
TBC vs TBC, Final 18 March, 7:00 PM Colombo



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here